KPP holds groundbreaking ceremony for EFR facility

As a way to benefit residents of the Kapatiran Peace and Development Community in Cabugao, Ibajay, Aklan, a groundbreaking ceremony was held for the Emergency Food Reserve (EFR) facility established in the area, March 10.

The aforementioned EFR facility is an initiative from the Community Empowerment through Science and Technology (CEST) Program for Conflicted Areas in Western Visayas of DOST VI in partnership with ASU which was developed by the Department of Science and Technology-Industrial Technology Development Institute (DOST-ITDI) via its Food Processing Division (FPD).

The main goal of the project is to equip beneficiaries with the proper skills and facilities needed for the preparation of food such as sagip powder, vegetable-rich green and brown choco bars, vegetable-rich compact, and baked polvoron.

As such, this project aims to eliminate dependence on national or regional food rations during disasters and provide livelihood opportunities for KPP members.  In line with this, a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) was issued and signed with the DOST VI and ASU during the event.

Through the MOA, the obligations of the DOST-ITDI, DOST VI, ASU, and KPP were stipulated to ensure the full implementation of the project and the goal realization to provide economic development and sustainable livelihood to KPP members.  Engr. Naomi Cossette R. Luis, Officer-in-charge of the Office of the Assistant Regional Director for Technical Operations, represented the DOST VI.

In addition, the ceremony was spearheaded by the Office of the Presidential Adviser on Peace and Unity (OPPARU), headed by Secretary Carlito Galvez Jr.

In attendance were members and representatives from the Provincial Government of Aklan, Municipal Government of Ibajay, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA), Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Aklan Electric Cooperative (AKELCO), Department of Agriculture (DA), National Irrigation Administration (NIA), Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), Philippine National Police Peace Progress and Development Center, Philippine Army, Aklan State University (ASU), Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA), and Jaime Ongpin Foundation. (JGagajena, DOST VI-KMU with reports from Aklan PSTC)