DOST Regional Office VI, or simply DOST VI, is one of the Regional Offices established when the Department was reorganized from the then National Science Development Board (NSDB) to the National Science and Technology Authority (NSTA) on March 17, 1982, and vested with broader policy-making and program implementing functions.

On January 30, 1987, NSTA was elevated to become the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) under Executive Order No. 128. DOST’s functions and responsibilities were further expanded to enable it to pursue the declared state policy to support local scientific and technological efforts, develop local capability to achieve technological self-reliance, promote public and private sector partnership in S&T activities, and encourage the private sector to take a greater role in R&D activities. Pursuant to the provisions of Section 31 of EO 128, the DOST is also authorized to establish regional of field extension offices as may be necessary.

Three years later, on July 31, 1990, the Provincial S&T Centers (PSTCs) were created through Republic Act No. 6959. Today, there are sixteen (16) DOST Regional Offices, including DOST-ARMM, and the newly created DOST-NCR), and seventy five (75) PSTCs.

Source: DOST-Comprehensive Regional Operations Manual (DOST-CROM)